Ministère de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Search Quebec.ca

Fuel Distributors

Reporting volumes distributed in 2020

Distributors must report the annual emissions attributable to the combustion or use of fuels distributed for consumption in Québec in accordance with the Regulation respecting mandatory reporting of certain emissions of contaminants into the atmosphere (RMRCECA), as amended in December 2019. The report must be filed no later than June 1, 2021, for volumes distributed during the 2020 calendar year (from January 1 to December 31).

All covered fuel distributors are also subject to the Regulation respecting a cap-and-trade system for greenhouse gas emission allowances (C&T Regulation). Their report must be verified by a third party and the verification report must be filed no later than June 1, 2021. If none of the distribution activities covered by the RMRCECA were carried out in 2019 and 2020, and the 2019 report was accompanied by a verification report, it is possible that the report may not need to be verified. To be sure, please contact the team in charge of the Québec Air Emissions Inventory (IQEA) by phone at 418 521-3833 or by email.

Distributors are required to report greenhouse gas emissions attributable to the combustion or use of fuels so long as the distributed amount is not less than 200 litres over four consecutive years.

Distributors must use the primary distribution point as the measuring point for fuels from outside Québec. Volumes kept in stock should not be reported if they were not actually distributed in the 2020 calendar year.

Fuels covered

The list of covered fuels was expanded when the RMRCECA was amended in December 2019. The following fuels were added:

  • Kerosene
  • Butane
  • Liquid petroleum coke
  • Ethanol (100%)
  • Biodiesel (100%)
  • Biomethane
  • Distillation gas (refinery)
  • Coal coke
  • Petroleum coke
  • Coal

Here are the emission factors that must be used for the 2020 report:

Liquid fuels Emission factor (metric tons CO2 equivalent per kilolitre)
Automotive gasolines 2.361
Diesels 3.007
Kerosene 2.544
Light oils (0, 1 and 2) 2.735
Heavy oils (4, 5 and 6) 3.146
Propane 1.544
Butane 1.764
Liquefied natural gas 1.178
Liquefied petroleum coke 3.837
Ethanol 0
Biodiesel 0
Gaseous fuels Emission factor (metric tons CO2 equivalent per thousand cubic metres)
Natural gas 1.889
Compressed natural gas 1.907
Biomethane 0.011
Distillation gas (refinery) 1.757
Solid fuels Emission factor (metric tons CO2 equivalent per metric ton)
Coal coke 2.487
Petroleum coke 3.451
Coal 2.397

Distribution activities covered

Anyone who is the first to perform one of following activities in Québec with respect to 200 litres or more of fuel is subject to the regulation:

  • Any form of trade or sale by a person or municipality, for consumption in Québec, of fuels that are refined, manufactured, blended, prepared or distilled in Québec by that same person or municipality;
  • The sale or trade in Québec, for the purposes of consumption, trade or sale in Québec, of fuels from outside Québec, other than natural gas distributed by a natural gas distributor within the meaning of section 2 of the Act Respecting the Régie de l'Énergie (chapter R-6.01);
  • The importation to Québec for the purposes of consumption, trade or sale in Québec, of fuels other than natural gas distributed by a natural gas distributor within the meaning of section 2 of the Act Respecting the Régie de l'Énergie (R-6.01);
  • The distribution of natural gas for consumption in Québec by a natural gas distributor within the meaning of section 2 of the Act Respecting the Régie de l'Énergie.

A sale is considered made in Québec when the fuels brought into Québec are owned by a seller from outside Québec

The importation is considered made in Québec:

  • Where the fuels come from outside Canada, when they are owned by a buyer in Québec who imports within the meaning of the Customs Act at the time they are brought into Québec.
  • Where the fuels come from another province or a territory of Canada, when they are owned by a buyer in Québec at the time they are brought into Québec.

However, the following are not covered: fuel contained in a fuel tank installed as standard equipment for supplying the engine of a vehicle; fuel in a sealed container of one litre or less.

Agreement between two fuel distributors

When the fuel comes from outside Québec, the seller and buyer can enter into an agreement in which they identify which of them is considered a distributor under the RMRCECA. In this case, the person thus designated must comply with all the requirements of the regulation. If the designated person fails to fulfill his or her obligations, the distributor who should have declared the emissions under the RMRCECA if no agreement had been entered into is required to remedy the situation as soon as possible.

When an agreement is entered into, the following information must be submitted by email to the Ministère:

  • the name and contact information of each of the parties;
  • the date on which the agreement was entered into;
  • the type and total annual quantity of fuel covered by the agreement.

Reporting form

Please use the Québec Air Emissions Inventory (IQEA) online service to file your report. To assist you, a step-by-step procedure (PDF, 1,4 MB) has been designed specifically for fuel distributors.

Attestation forms

In cases where a distributor is able to demonstrate that amounts of fuel he distributed in Québec were ultimately consumed by a large emitter covered by the C&T Regulation, an attestation signed by the person who actually received the fuel from the distributor confirming the total amounts consumed during the year for each type of fuel is required. Fuel used for transport by a large emitter should not be taken into account.

  • Attestation form – Large emitters (French, Word, 78 KB)
  • In cases where a distributor is able to demonstrate that amounts of fuel he distributed in Québec were ultimately redistributed to a person outside Québec, an attestation signed by the person who actually received the fuel from the distributor confirming the total amounts received during the year for each type of fuel is required.

  • Attestation Form - Outside Québec (French, Word, 46 KB)

Only fuel for which the distributor must produce a report should be taken into account.

The format of the attestations may differ from the suggested model. However, the required data must be reported. 

Back to Mandatory reporting of certain emissions of contaminants into the atmosphere

Evaluation of the page Learn more

As part of its 2019—2023 Strategic Plan, the Ministère wishes to improve access to information that is available on its website. Can we count on your co-operation by responding to a survey at the bottom of each page? This will enable us to evaluate how easy it was to find the information you were looking for.

How easy was it to find the information you were looking for today?
Easy Difficult

Return to the top

Ministère de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Recherche Quebec.ca

Distributeurs de carburants et de combustibles

Déclaration des volumes distribués en 2020

Les distributeurs doivent déclarer les émissions annuelles attribuables à la combustion ou à l'utilisation des carburants et des combustibles distribués pour consommation au Québec, conformément au Règlement sur la déclaration obligatoire de certaines émissions de contaminants dans l’atmosphère (RDOCECA) tel qu’il a été modifié en décembre 2019. La déclaration doit être transmise au plus tard le 1er juin 2021 pour les volumes distribués pendant l’année civile 2020 (du 1er janvier au 31 décembre).

Tous les distributeurs de carburants et de combustibles visés sont également assujettis au Règlement concernant le système de plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission de gaz à effet de serre (RSPEDE). Leur déclaration doit être vérifiée par une tierce partie et le rapport de vérification doit être transmis au plus tard le 1er juin 2021. Si aucune des activités de distribution visées par le RDOCECA n’a été effectuée en 2019 et en 2020 et que la déclaration de 2019 était accompagnée d’un rapport de vérification, il est possible que la déclaration n’ait pas à être vérifiée. Pour vous en assurer, veuillez communiquer avec l’équipe responsable de l’IQEA, par téléphone au 418 521-3833, ou par courriel.

Les distributeurs sont tenus de déclarer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre attribuables à la combustion ou à l’utilisation des carburants et combustibles tant que la quantité distribuée n’est pas en deçà de 200 litres pendant quatre années consécutives.

Les distributeurs doivent utiliser le point primaire de distribution comme point de mesure pour les carburants et les combustibles provenant de l’extérieur du Québec. Les volumes gardés en inventaire ne doivent pas être déclarés s’ils n’ont pas été réellement distribués pendant l’année civile 2019.

Carburants et combustibles assujettis

La liste des carburants et des combustibles assujettis a été bonifiée lors de la modification apportée au RDOCECA en décembre 2019. Les carburants et combustibles suivants ont été ajoutés:

  • Kérosène
  • Butane
  • Coke de pétrole liquéfié
  • Éthanol (100 %)
  • Biodiesel (100 %)
  • Biométhane
  • Gaz de distillation (raffinerie)
  • Coke de charbon
  • Coke de pétrole
  • Charbon

Voici les facteurs d’émissions qui doivent être utilisés pour la déclaration 2020 :

Carburants et combustibles liquides Facteur d’émission
(t éq. CO2 par kilolitre)
Essences automobiles 2,361
Carburants diesels 3,007
Kérosène 2,544
Mazouts légers (0, 1 et 2) 2,735
Mazouts lourds (4, 5 et 6) 3,146
Propane 1,544
Butane 1,764
Gaz naturel liquéfié 1,178
Coke de pétrole liquéfié 3,837
Éthanol (100 %) 0
Biodiesel (100 %) 0
Carburants et combustibles gazeux Facteur d’émission (t éq. CO2 par millier de mètres cubes)
Gaz naturel 1,889
Gaz naturel compressé 1,907
Biométhane 0,011
Gaz de distillation (raffinerie) 1,757
Carburants et combustibles solides Facteur d’émission (t éq. CO2 par tonne métrique)
Coke de charbon 2,487
Coke de pétrole 3,451
Charbon 2,397

Activités de distribution visées

Est visé quiconque est le premier à effectuer au Québec l’une des activités suivantes à l’égard de 200 litres et plus de carburants et de combustibles :

  • Toute forme d’échange ou de vente par une personne ou une municipalité, pour consommation au Québec, de carburants et de combustibles qui sont raffinés, fabriqués, mélangés, préparés ou distillés au Québec par cette même personne ou municipalité;
  • La vente ou l’échange au Québec, pour fins de consommation, d’échange ou de vente au Québec, de carburants et de combustibles provenant de l’extérieur du Québec, autres que le gaz naturel distribué par un distributeur de gaz naturel au sens de l’article 2 de la Loi sur la Régie de l’énergie (chapitre R-6.01);
  • L’importation au Québec, pour fins de consommation, d’échange ou de vente au Québec, de carburants et de combustibles, autres que le gaz naturel distribué par un distributeur de gaz naturel au sens de l’article 2 de la Loi sur la Régie de l’énergie (chapitre R-6.01);
  • La distribution de gaz naturel pour consommation au Québec par un distributeur de gaz naturel au sens de l’article 2 de Loi sur la Régie de l’énergie.

Une vente est considérée faite au Québec lorsque les carburants et les combustibles apportés au Québec sont la propriété d’un vendeur provenant de l’extérieur du Québec. L’importation est considérée faite au Québec :

  • Dans le cas où les carburants et combustibles proviennent de l’extérieur du Canada : lorsqu’ils sont la propriété d’un acheteur au Québec qui importe au sens de la Loi sur les douanes au moment où ils sont apportés au Québec.
  • Dans le cas où les carburants et combustibles proviennent d’une autre province ou d’un territoire du Canada : lorsqu’ils sont la propriété d’un acheteur au Québec au moment où ils sont apportés au Québec.

Ne sont toutefois pas visés les carburants et les combustibles contenus dans le réservoir de carburant installé comme équipement normal d’alimentation du moteur d’un véhicule ni ceux qui sont dans un contenant scellé d’un litre et moins.

Entente entre deux distributeurs de carburants et de combustibles

Lorsque le carburant provient de l’extérieur du Québec, un vendeur et son acheteur peuvent conclure une entente dans laquelle ils identifient lequel d’entre eux est considéré comme le distributeur visé par le RDOCECA. Dans ce cas, ce dernier doit satisfaire toutes les exigences du règlement. S’il fait défaut de s’acquitter de ses obligations, le distributeur qui aurait dû déclarer en vertu du RDOCECA si aucune entente n’avait été conclue est tenu d’y remédier dans les plus brefs délais. Lorsqu’une entente est conclue, l’information suivante doit être transmise, par courriel, au ministère :

  • le nom et les coordonnées de chacune des parties;
  • la date à laquelle l’entente est intervenue;
  • le type et la quantité annuelle totale de carburant ou combustible ayant fait l’objet de l’entente.

Formulaire de déclaration

Pour faire votre déclaration, veuillez utiliser la prestation électronique de services de l’Inventaire québécois des émissions atmosphériques (IQÉA). Dans le but de vous aider dans vos démarches, une démarche pas à pas (PDF, 1,4 Mo) a été conçue spécifiquement pour les distributeurs de carburants et de combustibles.

Formulaires d’attestation

Dans le cas où le distributeur est en mesure de démontrer que des quantités de carburants et de combustibles qu’il a distribuées au Québec ont ultimement été consommées par un grand émetteur visé par le RSPEDE, une attestation signée par la personne ayant effectivement reçu les carburants et les combustibles provenant du distributeur, qui confirme les quantités totales consommées dans l’année, pour chaque type de carburant et de combustible, est requise. Les carburants et combustibles utilisés à des fins de transport par un grand émetteur ne doivent pas être considérés.

Dans le cas où le distributeur est en mesure de démontrer que des quantités de carburants et de combustibles qu’il a distribuées au Québec ont ultimement été redistribuées à une personne à l’extérieur du Québec, une attestation signée par la personne ayant effectivement reçu les carburants et les combustibles provenant du distributeur, qui confirme les quantités totales reçues dans l’année, pour chaque type de carburant et de combustible, est requise.

Seuls les carburants et les combustibles pour lesquels le distributeur doit produire une déclaration doivent être considérés.

Le format des attestations peut différer du modèle suggéré. Toutefois, les données requises doivent être colligées. 

Retour à la page de Déclaration obligatoire de certaines émissions de contaminants dans l'atmosphère

Évaluation de la page En savoir plus

Dans le cadre de son Plan stratégique 2019-2023, le Ministère souhaite améliorer l'accessibilité de l'information disponible sur son site Web. Nous sollicitons donc votre collaboration, par l'entremise d'un sondage en bas de chacune des pages, qui nous permettra d'évaluer la facilité avec laquelle vous y trouvez l'information que vous recherchez.

À quel point était-il facile d'obtenir l'information que vous recherchiez aujourd'hui ?
Facile Difficile


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2021