Ministère de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Search Quebec.ca

Preliminary Information for Projects in Northern Environments

The James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA), by its chapters 22 and 23, establishes a system of protection for both the natural and social environment in the James Bay and Northern Quebec region. Depending on the type of project, some aspects of these chapters may report under the responsibility of the Government of Canada, or the Government of Québec or both levels of government. Some projects can also be reported under the responsibility of the Cree Nation Government, notably for projects conducted on Category IA lands. Title II of the Environment Quality Act (EQA) presents the environmental and social impact assessment and review procedures applicable in the James Bay region (section 133 of the EQA) and in Northern Quebec (section 168 of the EQA).

The projects mentioned in schedule A of the EQA are subjected to one of the procedures applicable in the Northern environment, contrary to those mentioned in schedule B, which are exempt from the procedures. Projects not outlined in either schedule are considered "grey zone" projects. Anyone who intends to undertake a project in a northern environment covered by schedule A of the EQA must apply for a certificate of authorization. For “grey zone” projects, a proponent must request an attestation of exemption and the Provincial administrator will confirm to him, after analysis of the project by the northern committee concerned, whether the project is not subject to the Environmental and social impact assessment and review procedure or if it is subject to it. In the first case, an attestation of exemption will be issued to the proponent for the project and, in the second, a directive will be prepared and sent to him, which will indicate the nature, scope and extent of the impact study he must prepare. Thus, except for the projects listed in schedule B, a proponent must file a preliminary information form with the Provincial administrator of the JBNQA.

If necessary, it is possible to confirm whether your project corresponds to an activity listed in schedules A and B of the EQA or a “grey zone” by sending an e-mail request for verification of exemption, including a short description of your project, its location and the anticipated impacts at the following email address: dgees-assujettissement@environnement.gouv.qc.ca.

The preliminary information form is used to describe the general characteristics of a project. It must be completed in a clear and concise manner and the information must be limited to the elements that are relevant for a proper understanding of the project, its anticipated impacts, and possible ramifications.

Listed below is the information required during submission:

  • Identity and contact information of the proponent;
  • Overall presentation of the project;
  • Location of the project and estimated timeframe or schedule;
  • Information regarding consultation activities with the public, aboriginal communities and land users within the project area;
  • Description of the main challenges and anticipated impacts on the receiving environment;
  • Greenhouse gas emissions;
  • Other relevant information.

In accordance with the EQA, the preliminary information form is either sent to the Evaluating Committee (COMEV), if the project concerns the region south of the 55th parallel (James Bay), or to the Kativik Environmental Quality Commission (KEQC), if the project concerns the region north of the 55th parallel (Nunavik). These two committees review the preliminary information and, in the case of projects covered by schedule A of the EQA, produce a recommendation on the directive indicating the nature, scope and extent of the study impact that the proponent must prepare. For "grey zone" projects, these committees produce a recommendation (COMEV) or a decision (KEQC) on whether the project is subjected to or exempt from the procedure. These recommendations and decisions are then forwarded to the Provincial administrator who communicates his decision to the proponent. The proponent may be issued an attestation of exemption for projects that are exempt from the procedure or issued a directive for those subjected to the environmental and social impact assessment and review procedure.

Also note that the preliminary information form will be published in the Environmental assessment register (French only) as defined in section 118.5 of the EQA but only for projects for which a directive will be issued. The COMEV and KEQC also publish preliminary information form on their websites.

In accordance with sections 115.5 and 115.12 of the EQA, the applicant for any authorization granted under that act must, as a condition of issuance, complete a « Declaration of the applicant or the holder of an authorization issued under the act respecting the Environment Quality Act », together with the other documents required by the minister. You will find the explanatory guide and the associated forms at the following address: https://www.environnement.gouv.qc.ca/lqe/renforcement/index.htm (French only).

Menu

The preliminary information form must be accompanied by the payment, charging the proponent for services provided under the environmental authorization system. This payment must be made to the ministre des Finances. Details regarding the applicable rates are available in the Tarification section (French only) of the environmental assessment web page. It should be noted that the MELCC will not process the application until payment is received.

Once completed, the proponent must send its preliminary information form together with a letter of transmission, which must be sent to the JBNQA Provincial administrator:

  • Send the electronic copy of the documents (form and letter of transmission) to reception.30e@environnement.gouv.qc.ca including the Deputy minister (marc.croteau@environnement.gouv.qc.ca) as well as Vanessa Chalifour, coordinator/team leader for northern projects (vanessa.chalifour@environnement.gouv.qc.ca). The letter of transmission must confirm that the hard copies are consistent with the electronic ones. In case of large electronic documents, please consult the last bullet.
  • Send a hard copy of the documents (French) to  the Deputy minister office at the following address:

    James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement Provincial Administrator
    Deputy minister of the Environment and Fight against Climate change
    Édifice Marie-Guyart, 30e étage
    675, boul. René-Lévesque Est, boîte 02
    Québec (Québec) G1R 5V7
  • Send the other hard copies and the USB keys (including the French and English versions) to the Direction de l’évaluation environnementale des projets industriels, miniers, énergétiques et nordiques at the following address:

    Mélissa Gagnon, director
    Direction de l'évaluation environnementale des projets
    industriels, miniers, énergétiques et nordiques

    Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques  
    Édifice Marie-Guyart, 6e étage, boîte 83  
    675, boul. René-Lévesque Est
    Québec (Québec) G1R 5V7

    Projects located south of the 55th parallel (James Bay)
    Ten (10) hard copies, including six (6) in French and four (4) in English
    Three (3) PDF copies in electronic format
    Additional copies may be requested depending on the scope of the project.

    Projects located north of the 55th parallel (Northern Quebec/Nunavik)
    Seventeen (17) hard copies, including nine (9) in French and eight (8) in English
    Three (3) PDF copies in electronic format
    Additional copies may be requested depending on the scope of the project.
  • If the electronic documents are very large: Inform the Direction de l'évaluation environnementale des projets industriels, miniers, énergétiques et nordiques (vanessa.chalifour@environnement.gouv.qc.ca) and a secure link allowing you to send your documents on the ShareFile platform will be shared with you. This link will be valid for a period of 7 days. Attach the letter of transmission to the email, indicating that the electronic version will be transmitted via the ShareFile platform of the DGÉES.

 

Back

Evaluation of the page Learn more

As part of its 2019—2023 Strategic Plan, the Ministère wishes to improve access to information that is available on its website. Can we count on your co-operation by responding to a survey at the bottom of each page? This will enable us to evaluate how easy it was to find the information you were looking for.

How easy was it to find the information you were looking for today?
Easy Difficult

Return to the top

Ministère de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Recherche Quebec.ca

Renseignements préliminaires pour la réalisation d'un projet en milieu nordique

La Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ), par ses chapitres 22 et 23, établit un régime de protection de l’environnement et du milieu social dans le territoire de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois. En fonction du type de projet, plusieurs aspects de ces chapitres relèvent du gouvernement du Québec, du gouvernement du Canada ou des deux ordres de gouvernement. Certains projets peuvent également relever du gouvernement de la nation crie lorsqu’ils sont réalisés sur des terres de catégorie IA à la Baie-James. Le titre II de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (LQE) présente les procédures d’évaluation et d’examen des impacts sur l’environnement et le milieu social qui s’appliquent dans la région de la Baie-James (art. 133 de la LQE) et du Nord québécois (art. 168 de la LQE).

Les projets mentionnés à l’annexe A de la LQE sont obligatoirement assujettis à l’une ou l’autre des procédures applicables en milieu nordique, contrairement à ceux mentionnés à l’annexe B, qui y sont soustraits. Les projets qui ne sont pas listés dans ces annexes sont considérés comme des projets de « zone grise ». Quiconque a l’intention d’entreprendre la réalisation d’un projet en milieu nordique visé par l’annexe A de la LQE doit demander un certificat d’autorisation. Pour les projets de « zone grise », un promoteur doit demander une attestation de non-assujettissement, et l’administrateur provincial lui confirmera, après analyse du projet par le comité nordique concerné, si le projet est non assujetti à la procédure d’évaluation et d’examen des impacts sur l’environnement et le milieu social ou s’il y est assujetti. Dans le premier cas, une attestation de non-assujettissement sera délivrée au promoteur pour le projet et, dans le second, une directive sera élaborée et lui sera transmise, laquelle indiquera la nature, la portée et l’étendue de l’étude d’impact qu’il doit préparer. Ainsi, sauf pour les projets listés à l’annexe B, un promoteur doit transmettre un formulaire de renseignements préliminaires à l’administrateur provincial de la CBJNQ.

Au besoin, il est possible de confirmer si votre projet correspond à une activité listée aux annexes A et B de la LQE ou à un projet de « zone grise » en transmettant par courriel une demande de vérification d’assujettissement, incluant une courte description de votre projet, sa localisation et ses impacts appréhendés à l’adresse courriel suivante : dgees-assujettissement@environnement.gouv.qc.ca.

Le formulaire de renseignements préliminaires sert à décrire les caractéristiques générales du projet. Il doit être rempli de façon claire et concise et l’information fournie doit se limiter aux éléments pertinents pour la bonne compréhension du projet, de ses impacts et des enjeux appréhendés.
Voici les informations à soumettre :

  • L’identification et les coordonnées du promoteur;
  • Une présentation générale du projet;
  • La localisation du projet et son calendrier de réalisation;
  • Les activités d’information et de consultation du public, des communautés autochtones et des usagers du territoire;
  • La description sommaire des principaux enjeux et impacts appréhendés du projet sur le milieu récepteur;
  • Les émissions de gaz à effet de serre;
  • Les autres renseignements pertinents.

Conformément à la LQE, le formulaire de renseignements préliminaires est transmis au Comité d’évaluation (COMEV), si le projet concerne la région au sud du 55e parallèle (Baie-James), ou à la Commission de la qualité de l’environnement Kativik (CQEK), si le projet vise le territoire au nord du 55e parallèle (Nord québécois/Nunavik). Ces deux comités examinent les renseignements préliminaires et, pour les projets visés par l’annexe A de la LQE, produisent une recommandation sur la directive indiquant la nature, la portée et l’étendue de l’étude d’impact que le promoteur doit préparer. Pour les projets de « zone grise », ces comités produisent soit une recommandation (COMEV), soit une décision (CQEK) quant à l’assujettissement du projet à la procédure. Ces recommandations et décisions sont ensuite acheminées à l’administrateur provincial, qui fait part de sa décision au promoteur. Cela peut se traduire par la délivrance d’une attestation de non-assujettissement dans le cas des projets non assujettis à la procédure ou par la délivrance d’une directive pour ceux qui y sont assujettis.

À noter également que le formulaire de renseignements préliminaires sera publié au Registre des évaluations environnementales en vertu de l’article 118.5 de la LQE, et ce, uniquement pour les projets pour lesquels une directive sera délivrée. Le COMEV et la CQEK publient également les formulaires de renseignements préliminaires sur leurs sites Web.

Conformément aux articles 115.5 et 115.12 de la LQE, le demandeur de toute autorisation accordée en vertu de cette loi doit, comme condition de délivrance, produire la déclaration du demandeur ou du titulaire d’une autorisation délivrée en vertu de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement, accompagnée des autres documents exigés par le ministre. Vous trouverez le guide explicatif ainsi que les formulaires qui y sont associés à l’adresse électronique suivante : www.environnement.gouv.qc.ca/lqe/renforcement/index.htm.  

Menu

Le formulaire de renseignements préliminaires doit être accompagné du paiement prévu dans le cadre du système de tarification des demandes d’autorisation environnementale. Ce paiement doit être fait à l’ordre du ministre des Finances. Le détail des tarifs applicables est disponible à la section Tarification du site Web des évaluations environnementales. Il est à noter que le ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC) ne traitera pas la demande tant que le paiement n’aura pas été reçu.
Une fois le formulaire de renseignements préliminaires rempli, le promoteur doit l’envoyer, avec la lettre de transmission, à l’administrateur provincial de la CBJNQ : 

  • Transmettre une version électronique des documents (formulaire et lettre de transmission) à reception.30e@environnement.gouv.qc.ca en mettant en copie conforme le sous-ministre (marc.croteau@environnement.gouv.qc.ca) ainsi que Vanessa Chalifour, coordonnatrice/cheffe d’équipe aux projets nordiques (vanessa.chalifour@environnement.gouv.qc.ca). La lettre de transmission doit confirmer que les versions papier concordent avec les versions électroniques. Si les documents électroniques sont très volumineux, voir le dernier point.
  • Transmettre une copie papier des documents (français) au bureau du sous-ministre à l'adresse suivante :

    Administrateur provincial de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois
    Sous-ministre de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques  
    Édifice Marie-Guyart, 30e étage  
    675, boul. René-Lévesque Est, boîte 02
    Québec (Québec)  G1R 5V7
  • Transmettre les autres copies papier et les clés USB (incluant les versions françaises et anglaises) à la Direction de l’évaluation environnementale des projets industriels, miniers, énergétiques et nordiques à l'adresse suivante :

    Madame Mélissa Gagnon, directrice
    Direction de l'évaluation environnementale
    des projets industriels, miniers, énergétiques et nordiques
    Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques  
    Édifice Marie-Guyart, 6e étage, boîte 83  
    675, boul. René-Lévesque Est
    Québec (Québec)  G1R 5V7

    Projets au sud du 55e parallèle (Baie-James)
    Dix (10) copies papier, soit six (6) en français et quatre (4) en anglais
    Trois (3) copies au format PDF sur support informatique
    Des copies supplémentaires peuvent être demandées selon l’ampleur du projet.

    Projets au nord du 55e parallèle (Nord québécois/Nunavik)
    Dix-sept (17) copies papier, soit neuf (9) en français et huit (8) en anglais
    Trois (3) copies au format PDF sur support informatique
    Des copies supplémentaires peuvent être demandées selon l’ampleur du projet.
  • Advenant que les documents électroniques soient très volumineux :

    Informer la Direction de l’évaluation environnementale des projets industriels, miniers, énergétiques et nordiques (vanessa.chalifour@environnement.gouv.qc.ca), et un lien sécurisé vous permettant de transmettre vos documents sur la plateforme ShareFile vous sera partagé. Ce lien sera valide pour une durée de sept jours. Joindre au courriel d’envoi la lettre de transmission en indiquant que la version électronique sera transmise via la plateforme ShareFile de la Direction générale de l'évaluation environnementale et stratégique (DGEES) du MELCC.

Retour à la page précédente

Évaluation de la page En savoir plus

Dans le cadre de son Plan stratégique 2019-2023, le Ministère souhaite améliorer l'accessibilité de l'information disponible sur son site Web. Nous sollicitons donc votre collaboration, par l'entremise d'un sondage en bas de chacune des pages, qui nous permettra d'évaluer la facilité avec laquelle vous y trouvez l'information que vous recherchez.

À quel point était-il facile d'obtenir l'information que vous recherchiez aujourd'hui ?
Facile Difficile


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2022