Ministère de l’Environnement, de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques, de la Faune et des Parcs

Kativik Environmental Quality Commission (KEQC)


la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécoisThe Kativik Environmental Quality Commission (KEQC) is responsible for evaluating and examining projects located on land governed under the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA) and located north of the 55th parallel. After analyzing preliminary information provided by the proponent and submitted to the Provincial Administrator of the JBNQA (the Deputy Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change), the KEQC determines whether to subject or exempt the project from the environmental and social impact assessment and review procedure as defined in Title II of the Environment Quality Act. If a project is submitted through the impact assessment procedure, the KEQC drafts a plan determining the scope of the environmental impact assessment to be conducted. If a project is exempt from the procedure, the KEQC must issue a notice of exemption. The KEQC also analyzes the impact assessments that are submitted for authorization and can hold public consultations within the communities impacted by a project. It subsequently renders a decision whether or not to authorize a project.

Minister responsible

The Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change


Kativik Environmental Quality Commission (KEQC)
P.O. Box 238
Kangiqsujuaq (Québec) J0M 1K0


Legal Basis

Environment Quality Act (R.S.Q., c. Q-2): sections 181 to 204.

James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (JBNQA): section 23.3.


Members appointed by the government of Québec:

  • Mr. Pierre Philie, Chair
  • Mr. Daniel Berrouard
  • Ms. Murielle Vachon
  • Ms. Thérèse Spiegle
  • Ms. Cynthia Marchildon
  • Members appointed by the Kativik Regional Government (KRG):

  • Ms. Lisa Koperqualuk
  • Mr. Charlie Arngak
  • Mr. Joseph Annahatak
  • Vacancy
  • Secretary :

    Mr. Florian Olivier
    Email :



    The Ministry assumes the operating costs of the KEQC. It makes provisions in the KEQC budget for financial assistance to allow members appointed by the KRG to participate in meetings. It also assumes the chairperson’s fees.

    Human Resources

    The Ministry assigns some of its employees the responsibilities of analyzing projects that are handled by the KEQC.

    KEQC website

    Visit the Kativik Environmental Quality Commission website for more information, such as the minutes of meeting and decisions on projects submitted for environmental and social impact assessment and review.

    Régime Nord du Québec

    Evaluation of the page Learn more

    As part of its 2019—2023 Strategic Plan, the Ministère wishes to improve access to information that is available on its website. Can we count on your co-operation by responding to a survey at the bottom of each page? This will enable us to evaluate how easy it was to find the information you were looking for.

    How easy was it to find the information you were looking for today?
    Easy Difficult

    Return to the top