Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Home Site Map Québec.ca E-Mail Search About the site Français

Report on Sales of Pesticides in Québec 2017

Summary

The MELCC elaborates the Report on Sales of Pesticides in Québec each year to inform the public and the interveners concerned by the sale and use of pesticides. The Pesticides Act (chapter P‑9.3), whose application falls under the authority of the MELCC, makes provision, in accordance with the Regulation respecting permits and certificates for the sale and use of pesticides (chapter P-9.3, r. 2), for the collection of data, in particular data pertaining to sales of pesticides. Until now, the report has not included sales of pesticides that coat seeds.

The Report on Sales of Pesticides in Québec is also used to calculate the indicator in the Stratégie phytosanitaire québécoise en agriculture 2011‑2021 (SPQA), whose broad objective is to reduce by 25% by 2021 the health and environmental risks related to the use of pesticides in relation to the 2006‑2008 reference period. Such risks are monitored, in particular, through an examination of sales of pesticides for agricultural purposes that are integrated into the Québec Pesticide Risk Indicator (IRPeQ).

Since 1992, the report has indicated changes in pesticide sales based on various categories and especially sales in the agri-environment and urban environment.

In 2017, total sales (French, PDF, 221 KB) of pesticides in Québec stood at 4 114 018 kg of active ingredients (kg a.i.). This marks a 1.3% reduction in relation to sales in 2016 and a 2.0% increase in relation to those in 1992, the first year in which the data were compiled.

The agri-environment (French, PDF, 370 KB) groups together sales of pesticides for crop production (field, sheltered and container crops) and sales for use on livestock and in farm buildings. In  2017, pesticide sales in the agri-environment totalled 3 357 068 kg a.i., 81.6% of total sales. Herbicide sales accounted for 69.3% of sales of pesticides used for phytoprotection in crop production.

The per-hectare pressure index remained stable (1.86 kg a.i./ha) between 2016 and 2017. During the same period, the total area in production fell by 1.3% and agricultural pesticide sales declined by 1.8%, which explains the stability of the per-hectare pressure index. Agricultural sector pesticide risk indicators are expressed in relation to the average for the 2006-2008 reference period. In 2017, the environmental and health risk indicators decreased by 14% and 3%, respectively, in relation to the reference period.

The urban environment (French, PDF, 323 KB) encompasses sales of pesticides for domestic use (personal products) and sales intended for the maintenance of green spaces (residential, commercial and gold courses) and pest management (extermination). Pesticide sales for the urban environment accounted for 9.8% of total sales, that is, 401 652 kg a.i., a 20.9% decrease in relation to 2016. The change is attributable, by way of an example, to lower pesticide sales for domestic use (24.4%), especially the sale of corn gluten meal, a bioherbicide. Domestic class biopesticides accounted for 55.9% of total domestic sales. Moreover, sales of pesticides for pest management fell by 30% during this period, a downturn attributable to reduced sales of sulfuryl fluoride. Lastly, sales of pesticides intended for green space maintenance decreased by 5.7% between 2016 and 2017.

The Other sales (French, PDF, 221 KB) section includes pesticides sold for use in industry, for maintaining road, rail and energy corridors, electrical substations and uncultivated land, developing and protecting forests, and controlling stinging insects. In 2017, the total quantity sold stood at 355 298 kg a.i., a 43.8% increase in relation to 2016.

It should be noted that certain data were revised and amended on May 17, 2019.

Below are links to detailed descriptions of each section:

 


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Québec.ca A propos du site Recherche English

Bilan des ventes de pesticides au Québec 2017

Résumé

Le Bilan des ventes de pesticides au Québec est élaboré annuellement par le Ministère en vue d’informer la population et les intervenants concernés par la vente et l’utilisation des pesticides. La Loi sur les pesticides (chapitre P‑9.3), dont l’application relève du Ministère, prévoit, conformément au Règlement sur les permis et les certificats pour la vente et l’utilisation des pesticides (chapitre P 9.3, r. 2), la collecte de données, notamment celles des ventes de pesticides. À ce jour, le bilan n’intègre pas les ventes de pesticides enrobant les semences.

Le Bilan des ventes de pesticides sert également au calcul de l’indicateur de la Stratégie phytosanitaire québécoise en agriculture 2011‑2021 (SPQA), dont l’objectif général est de réduire de 25 % les risques pour la santé et l’environnement  liés à l’utilisation des pesticides d’ici 2021 par rapport à la moyenne de la période de référence 2006‑2008. Le suivi de ces risques est effectué notamment par l’examen des ventes de pesticides à des fins agricoles intégrées à l' indicateur de risque des pesticides du Québec (IRPeQ).

Depuis 1992, le bilan présente l’évolution des ventes de pesticides selon différentes catégories et particulièrement les ventes en milieux agricole et urbain.

En 2017, les ventes totales (PDF, 221 ko) de pesticides au Québec se chiffrent à 4 114 018 kilogrammes d’ingrédients actifs (kg i.a.). Cela représente une diminution de 1,3 % par rapport aux ventes de 2016 ainsi qu’une augmentation de 2,0 % par rapport à celles de 1992, première année de compilation de ces données.

Le milieu agricole (PDF, 370 ko) regroupe les ventes de pesticides pour la production végétale (au champ, en cultures abritées et en contenants) et celles pour une utilisation sur le bétail et dans les bâtiments agricoles. En 2017, les ventes de pesticides pour le milieu agricole s’élèvent à 3 357 068 kg i.a., soit 81,6 % des ventes totales. Les ventes d’herbicides représentent 69,3 % des ventes de pesticides utilisés pour la phytoprotection des productions végétales.

L’indice de pression à l’hectare est demeuré stable (1,86 kg i.a. à l’hectare) entre 2016 et 2017. Pour cette même période, les superficies totales en production ont diminué de 1,3 % et les ventes de pesticides agricoles ont diminué de 1,8 %, ce qui explique la stabilité de l’indice de pression à l’hectare. Les indicateurs de risque des pesticides du secteur agricole sont exprimés par rapport à la moyenne de la période de référence 2006‑2008. En 2017, les indicateurs de risque pour la santé et pour l’environnement  ont diminué respectivement de 14 % et de 3 % par rapport à cette période de référence.

Le milieu urbain (PDF, 323 ko) regroupe les ventes de pesticides à usage domestique (produits destinés aux particuliers) ainsi que les ventes destinées à l’entretien des espaces verts (résidentiels, commerciaux et terrains de golf) et à la gestion parasitaire (extermination). Les ventes de pesticides pour le milieu urbain représentent 9,8 % des ventes totales, soit 401 652 kg i.a., ce qui correspond à une diminution des ventes de 20,9 % par rapport à 2016. Cette variation est entre autres attribuable à une diminution des ventes de pesticides à usage domestique (24,4 %) et particulièrement à la vente d’un bioherbicide, la farine de gluten de maïs. Les biopesticides à usage domestique représentent 55,9 % des ventes domestiques totales. De plus, les pesticides vendus pour la gestion parasitaire ont diminué de 30 % durant cette période. La diminution des ventes de fluorure de sulfuryle explique cette baisse. Finalement, les ventes de pesticides destinés à l’entretien des espaces verts ont diminué de 5,7 % entre 2016 et 2017.

La section Autres ventes (PDF, 221 ko) comprend les pesticides vendus pour une utilisation dans les industries, pour l’entretien des corridors de transport routier, ferroviaire ou d’énergie, pour l’entretien des postes électriques, pour l’entretien des terrains incultes, pour l’aménagement et la protection des forêts et pour le contrôle des insectes piqueurs. La quantité vendue est de 355 298 kg i.a. en 2017, ce qui représente une augmentation de 43,8 % par rapport à 2016.

À noter que certaines données ont été revues et corrigées en date du 17 mai 2019.

Les liens suivants mènent au détail de chaque section :


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2019