Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section changements climatiques

The Carbon Market

Compliance

A compliance period is a period at the end of which an emitter subject to the Regulation respecting a cap-and-trade system for greenhouse gas emission allowances must submit to the government a number of GHG emission allowances equal to the total verified GHG emissions that the emitter reported for the period. In other words, they must give the government one emission allowance for every ton of GHGs they emit into the atmosphere during the compliance period.

On November 1 following the end of a compliance period (or if that is not a business day, on the first business day that follows), covered emitters must have a number of emission allowances in their compliance accounts that is at least equivalent to the verified GHG emissions for all their establishments subject to the C&T during the period in question.

Emitters can obtain emission allowances in a variety of ways in order to cover their GHG emissions. They can acquire emission units at auctions or, under certain conditions, at sales by mutual agreement by the Minister. They can also purchase emission allowances from other emitters or cap-and-trade participants. Early reduction credits (issued only once, in January 2014) and offset credits may also be used to cover their GHG emissions. Emission-intensive trade-exposed emitters, given the potential impact of cap-and-trade system on their production costs and their limited capacity to transfer their carbon cost to their clients, receive allocation of emission units without charge.

The Québec cap-and-trade system for GHG emission allowances provides for three compliance periods for the 2013-2020 period.

First compliance period

The first compliance period began on January 1, 2013, and ended on December 31, 2014. During this first compliance period, around 80 establishments, mainly in the industrial and electricity generation sectors, were subject to the cap-and-trade system. Exceptionally, this first period lasted two years, whereas subsequent periods each extend over three years.

Emitters subject to the cap-and-trade system during that first compliance period had until November 2, 2015 to remit to the government the number of emission allowances corresponding to their declared and verified emissions for the years 2013 and 2014. All emitters subject to the C&T met their regulatory compliance requirements.

Second compliance period

The second compliance period began on January 1, 2015 and ended on December 31, 2017. During that period, many business operators in Québec that distribute fuel or import it for their own consumption (e.g., gasoline, diesel fuel, propane, natural gas and fuel oil, with some exceptions) joined the number of companies subject to the cap-and-trade system.

Emitters subject to the cap-and-trade system during that compliance period had until November 1, 2018 to remit to the government the number of emission allowances corresponding to their declared and verified emissions for the years 2015, 2016 and 2017. All regulated emitters surrendered the necessary allowances to cover their greenhouse gas emissions.

Third compliance period - ONGOING

The third compliance period began on January 1, 2018 and will end on December 31, 2020. During this period, an emitter operating an establishment that is not subject to the cap-and-trade system can request that the establishment opt-in if the establishment meets the established eligibility criteria. The establishment will then be added to the list of establishments subject to the cap-and-trade system. Emitters subject to the system during that compliance period will have until November 1, 2021 to remit to the government the number of emission allowances corresponding to their declared and verified emissions for the years 2018, 2019 and 2020.

Post 2020 compliance period

Subsequent compliance period procedures will be identical to those of the third period: they will begin on January 1 following the end of the previous period and will continue for three years each. Emitters subject to the cap-and-trade system during that compliance period will have until November 1 following the end of the compliance period or, if that day is not a business day, the first day that follows to remit to the government the number of emission allowances corresponding to their declared and verified emissions for the three years included in the period.

For additional information about compliance, see the CITSS User Manual – Volume 6: Compliance Management PDF, 1.2 MB).

Retour à la page Marché du carbone

Evaluation of the page Learn more

As part of its 2019—2023 Strategic Plan, the Ministère wishes to improve access to information that is available on its website. Can we count on your co-operation by responding to a survey at the bottom of each page? This will enable us to evaluate how easy it was to find the information you were looking for.

How easy was it to find the information you were looking for today?
Easy Difficult

Navigation par thématique
Menu de la section air

Marché du carbone

Couverture des émissions

Une période de conformité est une période à la fin de laquelle un émetteur visé par le Règlement concernant le système de plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission de gaz à effet de serre (RSPEDE) doit remettre au gouvernement un nombre de droits d’émission de GES équivalant au total des émissions de GES vérifiées qu’il a déclarées relativement à cette période. En d’autres termes, pour chaque tonne de GES émise dans l’atmosphère durant cette période, il doit remettre au gouvernement un droit d’émission.

Le 1er novembre suivant la fin d’une période de conformité ou, si ce jour n'est pas un jour ouvrable, le premier jour ouvrable qui suit, les émetteurs visés doivent avoir dans leur compte de conformité un nombre de droits d’émission au moins équivalent au total des émissions de GES déclarées et vérifiées de tous leurs établissements assujettis au cours de la période visée.

Un émetteur peut obtenir des droits d’émission de différentes façons. Il peut se procurer des unités d’émission lors des ventes aux enchères ou, à certaines conditions, lors des ventes de gré à gré du ministre. Il peut également se procurer des droits d’émission auprès d’un autre émetteur ou participant au SPEDE. Des crédits pour réduction hâtive (délivrés une seule fois en janvier 2014) ou des crédits compensatoires peuvent aussi être utilisés pour la couverture des émissions. Les entreprises à forte intensité d’émissions et exposés aux échanges commerciaux, compte tenu de l’impact potentiel du SPEDE sur leurs coûts de production et de leur capacité limitée à transférer le coût carbone à leurs clients, se voient allouer des unités d’émission gratuitement (allocation gratuite d’unités d’émission).

Le système de plafonnement et d’échange de droits d’émission de GES du Québec prévoit trois périodes de conformité pour la période 2013-2020.

Première période de conformité

La première période de conformité a débuté le 1er janvier 2013 et s’est terminée le 31 décembre 2014. Pendant cette première période, les exploitants d’environ 80 établissements, principalement dans les secteurs de l’industrie et de la production d’électricité, étaient visés par le système. Exceptionnellement, cette période avait une durée de deux ans. En effet, les périodes subséquentes s’échelonnent sur trois années chacune.

Les émetteurs visés lors de cette période de conformité avaient jusqu’au 2 novembre 2015 pour remettre au gouvernement un nombre de droits d’émission correspondant aux émissions qu’ils avaient déclarées (et qui avaient été vérifiées) au cours des années 2013 et 2014. La totalité des entreprises qui exploitent les établissements industriels assujettis au SPEDE ont respecté l’obligation réglementaire.

Deuxième période de conformité

La deuxième période de conformité a débuté le 1er janvier 2015 et s’est terminée le 31 décembre 2017. Pendant cette période, plusieurs exploitants d’entreprises qui distribuent des carburants et des combustibles au Québec ou qui en importent pour leur propre consommation (ex. : essence, diesel, propane, gaz naturel et mazout, sauf exceptions) se sont ajoutés aux entreprises visées.

Les émetteurs visés lors de cette période de conformité avaient jusqu’au 1er novembre 2018 pour remettre au gouvernement un nombre de droits d’émission correspondant aux émissions déclarées et vérifiées des années 2015, 2016 et 2017. La totalité des émetteurs assujettis au SPEDE ont respecté l’obligation réglementaire.

Troisième période de conformité - En cours

La troisième période de conformité a débuté le 1er janvier 2018 et se terminera le 31 décembre 2020. Pendant cette période, un émetteur exploitant un établissement non assujetti au SPEDE peut faire une demande d’adhésion volontaire pour cet établissement si ce dernier répond aux critères d’admissibilité établis. Cet établissement s’ajoutera ainsi aux établissements assujettis. Les émetteurs visés lors de cette période de conformité auront jusqu’au 1er novembre 2021 pour remettre au gouvernement un nombre de droits d’émission correspondant aux émissions qu’ils auront déclarées (et qui auront été vérifiées) au cours des années 2018, 2019 et 2020.

Périodes de conformité post-2020

Les périodes de conformité subséquentes se dérouleront selon les mêmes modalités que la troisième période; elles débuteront le 1er janvier suivant la fin de la période précédente et auront une durée de trois ans chacune. Les émetteurs visés lors de cette période de conformité auront jusqu’au 1er novembre suivant la fin de la période de conformité ou, si ce jour n'est pas un jour ouvrable, le premier jour ouvrable qui suivra, pour remettre au gouvernement un nombre de droits d’émission correspondant aux émissions qu’ils auront déclarées (et qui auront été vérifiées) au cours des trois années incluses dans la période.

Pour des renseignements additionnels concernant la couverture des émissions, consultez le Guide CITSS - Volume 6 : Gestion de la conformitéPDF, 1,6 Mo).

Retour à la page Marché du carbone